The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a framework that applies to all childminders, schools and nurseries that provide care and education for children from birth until the end of the Reception year.


There are 7 Areas of Learning and Development divided into Prime and Specific areas. When working with the youngest children I will be focusing mainly on the 3 PRIME areas. These are:


  • • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • • Physical Development
  • • Communication and Language


These form the basis for successful learning in the other four specific areas. These are:


  • • Literacy
  • • Mathematics
  • • Understanding of the World
  • • Expressive Arts and Design


As they grow in confidence and ability in the 3 prime areas the balance will shift to a more equal focus on all 7.

A child’s learning and development will continue to be implemented through planned, purposeful play which is individually tailored to each child’s needs and interests. This will be both child and adult led.  Activities will become more adult led as a child gets older to prepare them for school.

The EYFS is asking childcare practitioners to think of new things to share with parents and carers and come up with new ways of asking you for information about what your child is doing and saying at home. I will encourage and support parents in guiding development at home to ensure your child receives the best possible start.

More information on the EYFS can be found at: